Press Release

Ray Guy Award is given annually to the best punter in the nation

ORLANDO ( – The Augusta Sports Council officially named UCF’s Mac Loudermilk to its preseason watch list for the Ray Guy Award on Friday. The Ray Guy Award is given annually to the best punter in collegiate football.

Loudermilk, who has been a member of the Knights football program since 2014, took on the starting punter role as a redshirt junior last season. In 2017, he played in all 13 games, and was named Second Team All-Conference by The American.

Also a finalist for the Mortell Holder of the Year Award a season ago, Loudermilk dropped 19 of his 41 punts inside the 20-yard line, forced 23 fair catches and hammered six punts over 50 yards. His best of the season was a 69-yarder against UConn.

The Ray Guy Award is named after the All-American punter who played at Southern Mississippi before enjoying an impressive professional career with the Oakland Raiders.

2018 Watch Lists

July 16 – Milton, Maxwell Award

July 16 – Hill, Bednarik Award

July 17 – Milton, O’Brien Award

July 20 – Johnson, Rimington Trophy

July 23 – Gibson, Thorpe Award

July 24 – Hill, Outland Trophy

July 24 – Johnson, Outland Trophy

July 24 – Gibson, Nagurski Trophy

July 24 – Hill, Nagurski Trophy

July 27 – Milton, Walter Camp Award

August 3 – Loudermilk, Ray Guy Award