Griffin, Frost also recognized by Touchdown Club of Columbus

COLUMBUS, Ohio ( — UCF sophomore quarterback McKenzie Milton led the Knights to a perfect 13-0 season highlighted by an outstanding victory over Auburn at the Chick-Fil-A Peach Bowl on New Year’s Day. Milton passed for more than 4000 yards and 37 touchdowns with an additional eight scores on the ground during the Knights’ championship season.

As a result, Milton has been named the winner of the 2017 Touchdown Club of Columbus Archie Griffin Award.  The award, named for the Ohio State football legend and only two-time Heisman Trophy winner, is the only nationally-recognized award presented at the conclusion of all bowl games and represents college football’s Most Valuable Player for the entire season. Milton succeeds the last three winners Sam Darnold (USC), DeShaun Watson (Clemson), and Ohio State running back Ezekiel Elliott. New UCF head coach Josh Heupel won the Archie Griffin Award in 2000 while playing for Oklahoma.

Milton joins former coach Scott Frost (2017 Woody Hayes Award) and linebacker Shaquem Griffin (2017 Male Athlete of the Year) as honorees during the 63rd Touchdown Club of Columbus Awards, which will be presented on Saturday, February 17 at Express Live! in the Arena District of Columbus, Ohio.

For additional information concerning the Archie Griffin Award or the 63-year history of the TDC, visit