Team Tampa saturated with local talent

Leon McQuay III, Armwood, S, 2013
Leon McQuay III, Armwood, S, 2013

The IMG Academy will be hosting the Badger Sport/New Level Athletics All-Star 7-on-7 tournament.

The event will bring some of the most talented football players from across the state to Bradenton where they will compete in a 7-on-7 Tournament.

Each team is made up of players from various schools across the Bay area, including Jefferson, Lakewood, Hillsborough, Wharton and 2011 state champions Plant and Armwood.

The squad, dubbed “Team Tampa”, is built on athleticism and skill, boasting many of the top players in the area and the state.
What is unique about Team Tampa is that 21 of the 25 players listed on the roster are 2012 Ignite Showcase performers. Also, 14 players have verbal scholarship offers from various programs across the country and the same number has been rated in the BCP Winter Fire 49 ranking.

The coaches for Team Tampa are Woodrow Grady, Leon McQuay Jr and former USF Bulls quarterback Marquel Blackwell.

Here is the Team Tampa roster, in order of position:
QB Pete DiNovo, East Lake, 2013
QB Chase Litton, Wharton, 2014
QB Schyler Clark, Armwood, 2013

RB Robert Davis, Carrollwood Day, 2013
RB Greg Newton, Armwood 2014

WR Alvin Bailey, Armwood, 2013
WR Richard Benjamin, Tampa Bay Tech, 2013
WR Travis Johnson, Jesuit, 2013
WR Artavious Scott, East Lake, 2014
WR Aaron Jenkins, Jefferson, 2013
WR Dontario Fowler, Lakewood, 2014
WR Maurice Hall, Gibbs, 2014
WR Zach Benjamin, Tampa Catholic, 2013

CB Vernon Hargreaves, Wharton, 2013
CB Leon McQuay III, Armwood, 2013
CB Kyle Gibson, Armwood, 2014
CB Shaquill Griffin, Lakewood, 2013
CB Shaquem Griffin, Lakewood, 2013

LB Vincent Jackson, Jesuit, 2014
LB Jordan Sherit, Hillsborough, 2013
LB Nigel Harris, Hillsborough, 2013
LB Isaac Tanner, Freedom, 2013
LB Rocky Enos, Wharton, 2013

S Paris Bostic, Plant, 2013
S Nate Godwin, Freedom, 2013