DeMyer, Alstott Win All-State Honors

The Florida Dairy Farmers Association released their classification winners for both player and coaches of the year on Wednesday.

NCS QB Griffin Alstott was awarded the Class 2A Player of the Year award on Wednesday.

In the BCP coverage area, two individuals were selected: Northside Christian QB Griffin Alstott and Lake Gibson Head Coach Doug DeMyer.

Alstott won the 2A Player of the Year award for his performances in his senior season, leading Northside Christian to their first Final Four appearance since 1986, where the lost to eventual 2A runner-up Champagnat Catholic.

The Purdue commit was 164-for-296 with 2,410 yards and 31 passing touchdowns, including three games with five touchdowns. He also added eight touchdowns on the ground for the ‘Stangs.

DeMyer’s rise to 6A Coach of the Year in his first year as Lake Gibson Head Coach was certainly a special one, and it was almost perfect. He led the team to a 13-1 record after their loss to Miami Carol City in the 6A Final. DeMyer will only lose three starters on offense and five on defense, so look for the Braves to be back in 2017.

Both players will be up for nomination for the Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Football and Florida Football Coach of the Year, which combines all classes. Those awards will be announced at a later time.