Demon Deacons Place Six on Football All-ACC Academic Team

GREENSBORO, N.C.—Wake Forest senior safety Ryan Janvion, who last December was named the winner of the Atlantic Coast Conference’s Jim Tatum Award as the ACC’s Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year, headlines a group of six Demon Deacons named to the 2016 All-ACC Academic Football team, announced Wednesday by Commissioner John Swofford.

Joining Janvion on the 66-man team are redshirt junior Cam Serigne, junior John Wolford, redshirt sophomore Justin Herron, and freshmen Cade Carney and Dom Maggio.

To be eligible for consideration for the team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his undergraduate and/or graduate academic career.

Janvion, a redshirt senior from Pembroke Pines, Florida, was a finalist for the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame’s Campbell Trophy, which goes to the nation’s top football scholar-athlete. As such, he was named one of the NFF’s National Scholar-Athletes and winner of one of its coveted post-graduate scholarships. Janvion is one of three players on the All-ACC Academic team to garner the award all four years.

On the field, Janvion was a four-year starter who helped this year’s Demon Deacon squad earn bowl eligibility for the first time since 2011. Despite missing two games due to injury, he ranked sixth on the team in tackles with 46. He intercepted one pass and recovered a fumble during the 2016 season.

Serigne ranked third on the team with 30 receptions while his 426 receiving yards were second-best on the team. The redshirt junior tied for the team lead with three touchdowns on the season, including one in Wake Forest’s Military Bowl victory over Temple.

Wolford was one of nine quarterbacks named to the team, and earned the award for the third consecutive season. He appeared in 12 contests this past season, throwing for 1,774 yards and nine touchdowns while ranking third on the team with 521 rushing yards. His six rushing touchdowns tied for the team-high.

Herron was a member of the offensive line unit that paved the way for three different Demon Deacons to rush for over 500 yards in 2016. Carney matched Wolford with six rushing touchdowns on the season while compiling 603 rushing yards in his freshman campaign. Maggio, one of six members on the All-ACC Academic team who also earned some form of Freshman All-America honors, averaged 42 yards a punt this past season. He had a career-long punt of 80 yards, while recording 18 punts of 50 or more yards and pinning the opponent inside the 20-yard line on 24 occasions.

All 14 ACC schools were represented on the team. The ACC has selected an All-ACC Academic Football team every year since 1954.

The team was chosen from a pool of 143 ACC football student-athletes who were nominated by their schools.