Callaway Tabbed to 2017 Paul Hornung Award Watch List Junior Wide Receiver Named to Preseason National Awards List

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Junior wide receiver Antonio Callaway earned his spot on the 2017 Paul Hornung Award watch list, as the Louisville Sports Commission announced on Monday.

Callaway, a Third Team All-SEC wide receiver selection in 2016, garnered a spot on the watch list after leading the team in All-Purpose yards with 1,068. He achieved a feat last season that no Florida player ever had and that was scoring a rushing, receiving, passing, punt return and kickoff return touchdown in a career. Callaway was just the 21st FBS player since 1996 to score each five of those touchdowns, a list that is full of NFL stars.

The social and behavioral sciences major also eclipsed 1,000 receiving yards for his career last season, becoming the third fastest UF player to make the mark, needing only 17 games. The Miami, Fla. native led the team with 721 receiving yards and was third in scoring, recording 30 points on the year.

The Louisville Sports Commission gives the Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse to the most versatile player in major college football. Many consider Hornung the most versatile player in the history of college and pro football. He won the 1956 Heisman Trophy at quarterback for Norte Dame and was the number one pick in the 1957 NFL draft. He played every position in the backfield during his career with the Irish, where he also punted, kicked, returned kicks, and played defensive back.

The winner of the Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse will be announced on Dec. 6. The official awards banquet for the award is on March 7, 2018 in Louisville, Ky.

NCFAA Preseason Watch Lists Unveiling Schedule

July 10

* Bednarik Award:

o Duke Dawson, Cece Jefferson

* Maxwell Award:

o Malik Zaire

July 11

* Mackey Award

o DeAndre Goolsby

* Rimington Trophy

o T.J. McCoy

July 12

* Lou Groza Award

o Eddy Pineiro

* Ray Guy Award

o Johnny Townsend

July 13

* Bronko Nagurski Trophy

o Duke Dawson, Jabari Zuniga

* Outland Trophy

o Martez Ivey

July 14

* Jim Thorpe Award

o Duke Dawson

July 17

* Butkus Award

* Paul Hornung Award

o Antonio Callaway

July 18

* Biletnikoff Award

* Wuerffel Trophy

July 19

* Davey O’Brien Award

July 20

* Doak Walker Award

July 21

* Walter Camp Award