The Gatorade Player of the Year awards are given to both boys and girls at the high school athletic level. They are given for football, baseball, boys & girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, girls volleyball, softball, girls and boys track & field, and boys & girls cross country. The award is given to the best athlete in their respective sport by state, then each state winner is in the running for the national winner. Then, the national winners of each boy’s and girl’s sports are in the running for the boy and girl’s athlete of the year.

1985 Willis Peguese LB Southridge | University of Miami
1986 Emmitt Smith RB Escambia | University of Florida National Winner
1987 Derek Brown TE/LB Merritt Island | Notre Dame
1988 Richard McKenzie LB Boyd Anderson | Penn State
1989 Lateef Travis LB Pine Forrest | Florida State University
1990 Marquette Smith RB Lake Howell | Florida State University  National Winner
1991 Danny Kanell QB Westminster Academy | Florida State University
1992 Thad Busby QB Miami Pace | Florida State University
1993 Lamont Green LB Southridge | Florida State University
1994 Martavious Houston LB Boyd Anderson | University of Auburn
1995 Sheddrick Gurley LB Godby | University of Florida
1996 Kenny Kelly QB Tampa Catholic | University of Miami
1997 Ernest Graham RB Mariner | University of Florida
1998 Anquan Boldin QB Pahokee | Florida State University
1999 Willis McGahee RB Miami Central | University of Miami
2000 Adrian McPherson QB Southeast | Florida State University
2001 Gavin Dickey QB Tallahassee Lincoln | University of Florida
2002 Ernie Sims LB North Florida Christian | Florida State University
2003 Keith Rivers LB Lake Mary | University of Southern California
2004 Kenny Phillips DB Miami Carol City | University of Miami
2005 Sam Young OL St.Thomas Aquinas | Notre Dame
2006 John Brantley QB Ocala Trinity Christian | University of Florida National Winner
2007 Brandon Harris DB Booker T. Washington | University of Miami
2008 Jacobbi McDaniel DL Madison | Florida State University
2009 Matt Elam LB/RB Dwyer | University of Florida
2010 Jeff Driskel QB Hagerty | University of Florida
2011 Will Likely DB Glades Central | Maryland
2012 Derrick Henry RB Yulee High School | Alabama
2013 Sony Michel RB Plantation American Heritage | Georgia
2014 Jacques Patrick RB Timber Creek | Florida State University
2015 Tyler Huntley QB Hallandale | Utah
2016 Shaun Wade DB Jacksonville Trinity Christian | Ohio State

2017 Lorenzo Lingard RB University | University of Miami

2018 Marcus Crowley RB Jacksonville Trinity Christian | Ohio State