PROVIDENCE, R.I. – A conference-record 18 players from the American Athletic Conference are among the 330 participants who will perform in front of National Football League coaches, general managers and scouts at the 2017 NFL Scouting Combine Feb. 28-March 6 at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis.


Temple, the 2016 American Athletic Conference champion, had four players invited to the combine to lead the conference’s contingent. Houston will send three players, while UConn, Memphis and USF will send two each. UCF, Cincinnati, East Carolina, Tulane and Tulsa also will send players to Indianapolis.


The American had 13 participants in the 2016 NFL Scouting Combine and 14 in the 2014 and 2015 events.


The 2017 NFL Draft will take place April 27-29 in Philadelphia. The American, which has had at least two players chosen in the first round in each of the last three drafts, has two players (East Carolina’s Zay Jones and Temple’s Haason Reddick) tabbed as first-rounders by ESPN’s Mel Kiper Jr. entering the 2017 Scouting Combine.


American Athletic Conference Invitees to 2017 NFL Combine

Rodney Adams WR USF
Tyus Bowser LB Houston
Dion Dawkins OG Temple
Jake Elliott K Memphis
Shaquill Griffin DB UCF
Nate Hairston CB Temple
Zay Jones WR East Carolina
Keevan Lucas WR Tulsa
Marlon Mack RB USF
Arthur Maulet DB Memphis
Obi Melifonwu S UConn
Haason Reddick LB Temple
Tanzel Smart DT Tulane
Jahad Thomas RB Temple
Noel Thomas WR UConn
Mike Tyson S Cincinnati
Greg Ward Jr. QB/WR Houston
Howard Wilson CB Houston

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS


About the author: TEAM BCP


Follow us on Twitter: @bigcountypreps1 and Instagram: @bigcountypreps


Recent posts in COLLEGE FOOTBALL